We want the AmurInfoCenter site to be comfortable and interesting for you. We work with web analytics to become better. Cookies are used to collect analytical data. All information is completely confidential and is never passed on to third parties. Confirm your agreement with the policy regarding cookies or learn more about the technology.
Accept

Boreal forests

Taiga

Boreal forests with spruce and fir predominance occupy up to 30% of the forested area of the Far East. The main wooded lands are situated in the Amgun River basin and along the lower reaches of the Amur River. Among the main coniferous species are Jezo spruce, Siberian spruce and Manchurian fir. Boreal forests differ from coniferous-deciduous forests by more simple structure, a small number of stories, poor species variety of trees, shrubs, and herbs. 

Larch forests encompass 40% of all Far Eastern forests. They grow mainly in the basins of the Bureya and Zeya Rivers stretching farther north up to the Kolyma River to cover all mountain ridges. In the southern areas, they are found as isolated forests along the valleys of the Amur and Ussuri Rivers. The dominant tree of these forests is the Dahurian larch that recently has been found to have a number of smaller species. This is often a large, fast growing tree with hard and valuable wood, reaching up to 35 m in height under the best environmental conditions. In the southern territories, larch can mix with oak, while in the north with birch, aspen, fir, and less often with spruce. In the west, pines are a frequent companion of larch.

Plant forage in the coniferous forests is less diverse than in the coniferous-deciduous woodlands. The life of a number of animal species depends on the productivity of spruce, fir, and Siberian dwarf-pine. This is primarily squirrel, chipmunk, crossbill. Moose feeds on bark and branches of aspen and birch, musk deer feeds on lichens. They usually roam the mountainous spruce forests. In the thick bushes of Siberian dwarf pine live sable and spotted nutcracker that eat its seeds. Among the taiga’s typical rodents are lemmings, striped field mice. Carnivorous mammals (other than sable) are Siberian weasel, ermine, least weasel, wolverine, badger, brown bear, wolf and lynx.

Map of the Boreal biom (AHEC)
Download

Тайга

Таежные леса с господством ели и пихты занимают до 30% лесопокрытой площади Дальнего Востока. Основные массивы их сосредоточены в бассейне р. Амгунь и по нижнему течению Амура. Главными темнохвойными породами являются ели аянская, сибирская, пихта почкочешуйная. Таежные леса отличаются от хвойно-широколиственных более простым строением, небольшим количеством ярусов, бедностью видового состава древесной, кустарниковой и травянистой растительности.

Лиственничные леса составляют 40% всех лесов Дальнего Востока. Основные регионы распространения – бассейны рек Буреи и Зеи, отсюда они протягиваются на север, где занимают все хребты, до бассейна р. Колымы. В южных районах они встречаются отдельными изолированными лесами по долинам рек Амура и Уссури. Господствующим деревом названных лесов является лиственница даурская, разделенная в последнее время на ряд мелких видов. Это часто крупное, быстро растущее дерево, достигающее в лучших условиях до 35 м высоты и обладающее прочной и ценнейшей древесиной. В южных районах в лиственничниках возможна примесь дуба, в северных – берез, осины, реже ели, пихты. На западе частым спутником лиственницы является сосна.

Растительные корма в хвойных лесах менее разнообразны, чем в хвойно-широколиственных. Жизнь ряда видов животных тесным образом связана с урожайностью ели, пихты, сосны, кедрового стланика. Это прежде всего белка, бурундук, клест. Корою, ветками осины, берез, кустарников питается лось, лишайники поедают олень, кабарга. Они обитают обычно в высокогорных ельниках. В лесах с зарослями кедрового стланика  обитают соболь, птица кедровка, поедающие его семена. Из грызунов, характерных для тайги, являются лемминги, лесные полевки, из хищных млекопитающих кроме соболя – колонок, горностай, ласка, росомаха, барсук, бурый медведь, волк, рысь. 


Бореальные леса_preview.jpg
Скачать